Dr. or Tech--who harvests in FUE procedure???

Possibly a silly question, but when performing an FUE procdure, who typically performs the harvest portion of the procedure--the Dr. or a Technician???

I know the Dr. does the implanting of the grafts, but am unclear from some of my consultations on who harvests fromt the donar area...

Not sure about all docs, I know shapiro has a tech to harvest, from a conversation that I had with Matt.

I am an online representative for Dr. Raymond Konior who is an elite member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

View Dr. Konior's Website

View Spanker's Website

I am not a medical professional and my opinions should not be taken as medical advice.

Azjoe,

In most cases, it is the hair transplant surgeon who removes the grafts in a follicular unit extraction (FUE) case.

"Doc" Blake Bloxham - formerly "Future_HT_Doc"

Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant for the Hair Transplant Network, the Hair Loss Learning Center, the Hair Loss Q&A Blog, and the Hair Restoration Forum

All opinions are my own and my advice does not constitute as medical advice. All medical questions and concerns should be addressed by a personal physician.

Azjoe1

At our clinic Dr. Gabel has the staff assist him during the process, but he harvests all of the FUE grafts himself. Once the grafts have been harvested, the staff will examine them under the microscope and trim them if necessary. Dr. Gabel makes the recipient sites and then he will place the grafts with another staff member.

Aileen

Patient Coordinator for Dr. Steven Gabel

Dr. Steven Gabel is a member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

azjoe1,

You ask a good yet controversial question my friend. From a clinical standpoint, it is anyone's guess who actually is harvesting the grafts during a FUE procedure. Years ago, when FUE was first introduced in North America, ONLY licensed physicians were actually doing the extractions.