Is it possible to ONLY harvest singles?

Lets say if someone only needed temple points done and have no use for any multis, is it possible or realistic to only extract single grafts? 

Yes this is possible but not the best option, this will create alot of scarring in your donor area for no good reason. The best thing to do in such cases is to dissect multigrafts to create more singles. this way your donor area will be less impacted for the same amount of grafts.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, jjalay said:

Yes this is possible but not the best option, this will create alot of scarring in your donor area for no good reason. The best thing to do in such cases is to dissect multigrafts to create more singles. this way your donor area will be less impacted for the same amount of grafts.

Im very new to hair transplants. Can you please explain the dissecting grafts part? Is this something most surgeons can do?

• Moderators

A two haired graft can be cut in half to make 2 single haired grafts.

Al

Forum Moderator

(formerly BeHappy)

I am a forum moderator for hairrestorationnetwork.com. I am not a Dr. and I do not work for any particular Dr. My opinions are my own and may not reflect the opinions of other moderators or the owner of this site. I am also a hair transplant patient and repair patient. You can view some of my repair journey here.

• Valued Contributor
8 hours ago, eze said:

Lets say if someone only needed temple points done and have no use for any multis, is it possible or realistic to only extract single grafts? 

Temple points need to be lighter, softer, slower growing hair. These grafts are generally taken from behind the ears.

• Like 2