Techs are more important than the doc- Agree or disagree.

For me it’s just common sense. The handling, separating and implanting of the ever so delicate grafts is in most cases, the pure responsibility of the techs. Physicians have all these letters behind their names and the techs do not…. Just some training for the techs and call it good.

One  hears horror stories all the time regarding the techs and their unprofessionalism. I’ve experienced this but…. Not with my last FUT. The techs were exceptional. I’m so happy I have my hair back :)

Thoughts??

• Administrators

Doctors plan the procedure and design, they create the sites, which determines the appearance and density. Techs follow the doctors instructions. Its like saying the car is more important than the driver. 

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Posted (edited)

Neither would really work well without the other, the best teams will have a decent Dr at the helm and is supported by a well trained tech team. 

They both have to be right to get a decent result. A purely tech driven team never works out well. And a Dr doing too much of the procedure will be subject to fatigue. 

I can't separate them too much, it's very important to have a Dr do at the least do the most important step (Incisions) and then I have no issue in just how many steps the techs will then perform.