Do Hair Transplants Thin? THE TRUTH with Dr. Shapiro, Dr. Wong, and Dr. Bisanga

Does the transplant thin because  

16 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

I watched this video, but I still didn't get a clear picture as to why the transplanted hair thins.

To me it seems: Some of the donor would have thinned out anyway even if it wasn't transplanted - and with some hair transplants we therefore see the transplanted hair thinning.

• Administrators

All of the above, donor hair is DHT resistant. Not DHT proof, as we age our hair thins. Hair transplants will thin around 15-20% in 20-30 years. Probably sooner without medication. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

50 minutes ago, Melvin- Admin said:

All of the above, donor hair is DHT resistant. Not DHT proof, as we age our hair thins. Hair transplants will thin around 15-20% in 20-30 years. Probably sooner without medication. 

The recipient area being more hostile to transplanted hair. Would that also be true?

• Administrators
9 minutes ago, Proportions said:

The recipient area being more hostile to transplanted hair. Would that also be true?

There’s no scientific data, donor dominance would mean it doesn’t matter where the hair is located. But I think DHT effects hair all over the scalp. But donor hair is more resistant. 

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

View my thread