Where is shockloss more prevalent?

For me it was the donor area both with regular closure the first HT and with the trichophytic closure the second HT.

However, I did get recipient area shockloss both times also. Just not as extensive.

I GET SHOCKLOSS from HT's!! icon_smile.gif

Edit: The second HT is only 10 weeks old, so we have to see how that shockloss goes.

There are multiple variables to this answer. It can occur either place and depends on technique and closure. Usually in the donor area, it is due to tension on the wound edges.

dr. Mejia:

There is zero tension in my scar, yet i have some shock loss. Are there other causes for shock loss? Can dissolvable sutures be a cause?

Thanks.

I am not a doctor. The opinions and comments are of my own.

HT with Dr. Cooley on Nov 20, 2008

2097 grafts, 3957 hairs

Proscar, 1.25 mg daily, skip the 5th day, started Nov 2007

My Hair Loss Blog - Hair Transplant with Dr. Cooley

There is a much higher chance of shockloss with increased tension. You can still get shockloss simply from the surgical trauma induced. Other factors include trauma to underlying vessels arteries with reduction of blood supply, infection, wound dehiscence, hematoma formation. I recently had a patient come to me from Costa Rica with a pseudomanas infection and wound dehiscense of the donor area.

Dr. Mejia,

These factors that you have mentioned are somewhat worrying. I have added the definitions for the educational purposes.

I have a couple of questions:

1.What steps can a patient, as well as a surgeon, take to reduce the tendency to shockloss(with respect to all contributing factors)?

2. Is wound dehiscence and haematoma formation common or rare?

Thanks for the input Dr. Mejia!

DEFINTIONS: