Help - Nighttime Scratching

I’m on day 2 of my HT and last night I woke myself twice. I was gently rubbing one side of my head the first time, and the second time I was gently scratching the hairline. I’m worried I may have damaged the hair, however, I can’t see any hair that has come out. What can I do to prevent nighttime scratching? I’ve even though about handcuffing myself lol.. but that would be terrible in an emergency. 

Wear a baseball cap and sit up.  You can put some support on the neck, (perhaps a travel pillow).

Patient Consultant for Dr. Arocha at Arocha Hair Restoration. 

I am not a medical professional and my comments should not be taken as medical advice. All opinions and views shared are my own. 

Coverdale,

It’s always best to avoid scratching the transplanted area especially for the first week or so after surgery. That said, it sounds like you already had a couple episodes where you ended up scratching at night time even though you weren’t aware of it. The truth is, you can’t go back in time so the best you can do is take the necessary action to avoid it from happening again   

Hopefully you didn’t cause any damage when you scratched the hair but if you did, I’m sure it’s likely minimal.  In order to avoid scratching at night time, you can try wearing a loose fitted hat or something like it to bed. That way, if you end up scratching the area, at least it’s better protected.

Best wishes,

Rahal Hair Transplant

• Thanks 1

Rahal Hair Transplant Institute - Answers to questions, posts or any comments from this account should not be taken or construed as medical advice.    All comments are the personal opinions of the poster.  

Dr. Rahal is a member of the Coalition of Independent of Hair Restoration Physicians.