My story: 2580 FUE, May 10, 2021 (Microscope diary beginning October 27, 2021)

Lightmare

Hello everyone!  31 year old newcomer here.  I am almost 6 months into my first hair transplant and recently found this site.  I've been balding (frontal half and crown) since 2014 and finally decided to do something about it!  My timeline is as such...

• 2014-2019: I did nothing about it.  baldness was progressing slowly and I didn't think much about it.
  • 2019-2021: I started trying 2x a day topical Minoxidil, and a photo diary to track progress.  I had initial success but it oscillated after a while.  Too scared to try fin at this point.  I also noticed that at this 3 month mark I started getting massive (up to 4mm) dandruff flakes from the topical but witnessed reduced efficacy when switching to the foam...
  • May 2021: I had enough and it was finally time to take the plunge.  I visited several doctors and picked one with solid credentials, and got the transplantation to re-make my hairline and fill in my entire scalp and a bit of my crown.  Also at the recommendation of my surgeon, I added 1mg of daily finasteride pills + 2x a week 2% Ketoconazole shampoo to help with massive flakes I get from topical minoxidil dandruff.

I had my transplantation this May and, though am starting the sharing process late, wanted to share the timeline with you all.  Interesting notes about my transplant:

• We focused most of the density on the hairline and frontal 3rd, with decreasing density gradually as you go up to the crown. 
  • I had soreness for much longer than most.  Headaches into the 2nd week.
  • My shedding period was very long, between 2 weeks and 2 months post transplant.
  • The areas that were most bald pre-HT haven't yet witnessed much meaningful growth, but the areas with some native hairs have seen good growth.  Variation is high.