is Biotin shampoo worth the price?

I'm sure Biotin is very popular and this has been covered before. Sorry in advance.

For years I've been using Vive Pro thickening Shampoo. It's been discontinued and it's time for a change.  I'm in my late 30's. Have had 2 HT's in the past. And currently taking Proscar/Rogaine daily.

I was on Amazon and noticed 2 types of Biotin shampoo. Caffeinated Shampoo/DHT Blocker. But at $28 for 8oz, that is very pricey. Does anyone recommend?

An alternative would be Dove Thich & Strong caffeinated shampoo for $5. lol.

HT2 - March, 2013. 2933 grafts.

HT1 - June, 2006. 800 grafts.

• Administrators

Biotin in shampoo doesn’t really do anything for hair loss, the only ingredient in shampoo that can be effective in treating hair loss is Ketocanozole.

You can find this in a shampoo called Nizoral, I personally use Lipogaine Big 3 shampoo, it’s $25 a bit expensive, but it’s not as harsh on my hair as Nizoral which is $15.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

1 hour ago, Melvin-Moderator said:

Biotin in shampoo doesn’t really do anything for hair loss, the only ingredient in shampoo that can be effective in treating hair loss is Ketocanozole.

You can find this in a shampoo called Nizoral, I personally use Lipogaine Big 3 shampoo, it’s $25 a bit expensive, but it’s not as harsh on my hair as Nizoral which is $15.

I was looking into that but from reading the label it seemed like it was strictly a Dandruff shampoo (and I luckily do not have dandruff). Think it's still safe to use?