FUE single hairs

How does an FUE surgeon know if he is taking 1s 2s or 3s when he extracts the hair please? I assume he just has to go on sight? When a surgeon is refining a hairline he should only take 1s and maybe some 2s but without microscopes via FUT I'm confused how they know.

• Administrators

Surgeons have high magnification glasses that show the follicular unit (fu) in their natural grouping. However, there are cases where one follicle appears as a 1 but maybe a 2 fu due to one follicle going in to the resting phase. I would say for the most part this is not an issue, but a majority of physicians still examine the fu grafts under a microscope to make sure there are no dormant follicles in the fu’s.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Magnification is done both at extraction (so they group all 1s together, all 2s together etc) and implantation. Obviously, it would have to be, as otherwise they wouldn't have to carefully examine each graft before implanting, which wouldn't work as there are usually thousands to get through.

• Administrators

The surgeons have high magnification glasses on while extracting so they see the groupings of the fu’s.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey