travelling immediately after surgery

I do read that there are no real restrictions to travel but wanted to find out if anyone had to deal with swelling/bleeding/infection while or after travelling back home.

I am considering taking a 3 hour flight the morning after surgery. Wondering if anyone faced any unexpected issues while travelling?

• Administrators

The biggest issue with traveling right after surgery is covering the recipient area, you really shouldn’t have anything covering the grafts. You could use a surgical cap, but this would only draw unnecessary attention. I would recommend giving yourself at least a day before returning home.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Infection is highly unlikely and the main swelling tends to begin a couple of days after the procedure. But really it's much better to stay close to the doctor's clinic for several days after the procedure, so they can check on you and keep your recipient area clean.

Are you having FUE or FUT?

I had FUE and flew home five days later. This was an 8 hour international flight, so yours is short by comparison. I was completely open with anybody I came into contact with at the airport and it was an easy experience.

I am a patient and representative of Dr Rahal.

My FUE Procedure With Dr Rahal - Awesome Hairline Result

I can be contacted for advice: matt@rahalhairline.com

Twice I travelled home from Canada to Texas two days after my surgery.

This plan went well.