Opinions needed—one week post-op

grizzlyadams

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting on this forum. One week ago I had my first hair restoration surgery, about 3000 grafts. I’m experiencing quite a bit of paranoia about whether or not my surgery was successful.

My surgeon didn’t mention anything to me about nicotine intake being detrimental for the grafts until the day of surgery. I’ve been a half pack a day smoker for the past four years so receiving the news that I have to quit all forms of nicotine very abruptly was a real piss off. I haven’t smoked at all since the day of surgery, but I was smoking quite a bit right beforehand. After doing some research, I’ve learned that it’s recommended not to smoke for a month before surgery, which is giving me some cause for concern.

After one week, it appears as though the density of my grafts have subsided, especially in the middle, but I’m not sure if everything is actually looking perfectly normal? So, please give me your honest opinions. Any feedback is much appreciated. I’m going to see the surgeon tomorrow but would like to get a non-biased opinion first.

The first photo is from day two and second photo is from day seven.

Thanks!

403E418B-0E77-4C9F-8E53-2F879C0F6E0E.thumb.jpg.5843a005dc854fefd9c248d7f8b9d645.jpg

5243B1E6-0834-47E8-8107-A45C9341DE04.thumb.jpg.6e7704fdfa857695deb9a892aeda8860.jpg

your surgeon will give you the best opinion since he is actually seeing your hair in person . very hard to tell from these pics . just follow his post op regimen strictly and then revisit this forum in a month or so when your scabs have all fallen off . as to smoking / nicotine , that is not advisable for any medical procedure (pre and post op), so I would lay off on that as well as far as you can.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FUT #1, ~ 1600 grafts hairline (Ron Shapiro 2004)

FUT #2 ~ 2000 grafts frontal third (Ziering 2011)