Shedding much more in the hairline

Is this purely transplanted hair that you are shedding or are you experiencing shock loss of existing hair as well?

Are we talking about all transplanted hair? Most transplanted hair will shed. Some won't. This has no bearing on future hair growth.

If you've lost some native hair, it's likely temporary and also not a cause for concern.

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

Hi, thanks for your reply. No, this is just transplanted hair that's shed. I know most hair will shed but I find it at best odd and it worst really worrying that so far it only appears to have shed completely in the hairline. Why would it shed earlier in some parts of the scalp?

Shedding and shock loss are two different issues. Shock loss is more related to the level of trauma from the procedure and shedding can be attributed to a number of reasons.

Yet if the recent loss is within the recipient area or adjacent to it, then it's probably shock loss and like David stated will undoubtedly grow back unless those shed hair shafts were very diffused and weak.

Gillenator

Independent Patient Advocate

I am not a physician and not employed by any doctor/clinic. My opinions are not medical advice, but are my own views which you read at your own risk.

Supporting Physicians: Dr. Robert Dorin: The Hairloss Doctors in New York, NY

It's shedding as it's the transplanted hairs that have fallen, prior to the transplant no hairs were there. These are hairs placed as part of the transplant.

So, just with reference to transplanted hairs, if some shed before others, in a specific area, does this mean something? Why would hairs shed in the hairline before they shed elsewhere?

justgotfue,

So did you undergo FUE or Strip Surgery? Just kidding :-P. Welcome to our community.