Considering taking the plunge

Biz

Scheduling a consultation with Dr. Gabel in Oregon next week. I see lots of positive feedback on his work. Have to admit I'm nervous about proceeding. Would love to solve my problem permanently but wonder whether I am a good candidate. I'm a Norwood VI with very fine hair. Guess I'll find out.

Would welcome feedback from anyone who used Dr. Gabel, especially those whose situation may be similar to my own.

Biz,

Dr. Gabel is an excellent choice. Definitely consult with him and let us know how it goes. If you'd also like to consider the other excellent surgeons we recommend you can view the entire list here. To learn about our criteria for recommending physicians, click here.

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

Have now completed two virtual consultations, each very different. The first was with Hasson and Wong. After submitting my photos I also mentioned that I currently wear a hair system at 50% density. The next day I received a "generic" response. Here is the text:

Thank you for your interest in Hasson & Wong. Your degree of hair loss is quite extensive and your donor zone looks to have moderate density. This makes your expectations impossible to meet as it would be a challenge to even cover the front half of your scalp to 50% density. Therefore the doctors believe that you are not a good surgical candidate.