Want info about post HT

How long before the transplanted hair falls out?

Prior to growing again

How much pain can one expect?

Have hair on top thinning, does the dr shave the head or work existing hair.

The transplanted hairs last anywhere from 8 days to 3 weeks and they should begin to regrow between 3-4 months.

The pain involved with the procedure is soreness and tightness in the donor area due to the stitches. There shouldn't be any pain in the recipient area as that area will be numb for a few weeks and a slight loss of sensation can last for a few months. Doctors typically prescribe some pain killers, which make day to day comfortable.

Some doctors shave while others don't, ask the doctors you're considering what they usually do. Dr. True and Dr. Dorin do not shave in most cases.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

Thanks

Had 3 HT 26 years ago

Look fairly good for many years considering plug look

10 rows of plugs

Can they tp between plugs and rows and eliminate plug look?

Would they not cut existing hair?

Hey 4J,

I'm not sure about those surgeons in particular, but most surgeons can definitely (and often, routinely) transplant around plugs. The results will depend on the thickness and numbers of hairs transplanted, as well as the number of plugs that they are covering up. Search on this forum or blogs for patients with previous plugs.

I'm not sure what you mean by cutting "existing hair". If you mean the donor area (in the back), they will cut the hair for the area will they will extract and then suture it. As thehairupthere says, some surgeons will shave the area they are transplanting into (the recipient area), while others don't. If your hair in the back is about an inch long at the time of surgery, it should be long enough to cover the suture line in the back.