Sauna -steam room-swimming pool?

Yes swimming and sauna are fine then too. At 3 weeks I wouldn't suggest diving head first into the water though that may be a bit hard for the grafts, but they are set at that point so they should be fine.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

We had an interesting case a couple of years ago. He was a repair case from a major chain operation and he'd had chronic scar problems. About a year after our repair case, we revised his first scar and he started having the same problems. I tried cortisone shots, antibiotics, and he looked like he was chronically infected.

Then I got an email from him saying his dermatologist was treating him for folliculitis on the lower extremities, which I'd never examined, and she thought it was from him spending 2 hours a day in a hot tub and steam room...also which I'd never thought to ask about.

Her antibiotic treatment and cutting down to a shorter time in the steam room and hot tub seemed to cure him.

So I think this is one of those "too much of a good thing..." issues. Use moderation as you resume your activities.

Dr. Lindsey McLean VA

William H. Lindsey, MD, FACS

McLean, VA

Dr. William Lindsey is a member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

You can safely go swimming or into a sauna at this point.

Swimming crawl/freestyle twists your neck, think about that.

Breaststroke and Butterfly extend and tug your neck muscles in a forward and down motion. Also a baddy.

I wouldn't swim for six months, if its a second or third procedure or especially if its a revision. I did though. Then i read a post from a doctor on this board, I think it was from one of Mssrs Alexander-Lindsay-Feller saying that swimming stretches your muscles.