Am I loosing grafts or experiencing normal shedding?

So I am at day 9 post op, and my shedding new hairs don't look anything like normal hairs when they fall out. Normal hairs have a small white "bulb" at one end. My new hairs when they shed have a blunt dark end at both ends and no small white bulb. I am beginning to worry that 1 it's too early to be shedding the new hairs and 2 that they don't look like normal hairs when they shed. Should I be worried, or is this totally normal? Thanks very much...

You shouldn't be worried, this all sounds normal. All of the hairs you had transplanted will fall out between 8 days and 3 weeks post op.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

Yep, you don't want to see the bulb; that would mean you lost a graft. Normal shedding HT hairs are straight and sometimes bent at the end like an L.

I am the owner/operator of AHEAD INK a Scalp Micropigmentation Company in Fort Lee, New Jersey. www.aheadink.com

Yep, you don't want to see the bulb; that would mean you lost a graft. Normal shedding HT hairs are straight and sometimes bent at the end like an L.

Yes I know exactly what you mean by the L at the end! So out of interest when you loose a normal hair that has a white bulb on the end, does that mean it's gone forever?

Most of the time when you see a white "bulb" at this point it's dry skin that's attached to the hair that is shedding. You will experience more dandruff like this for the next few weeks. Unless you hit your head severely within the first few days of your procedure than your hair should be fine and healthy.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians