Red blotches on scalp help!

Jackthehat1

You should see your dermatologist and show him or her your scalp. Is it burning and itchy? The redness could be from the medication you're using and if it is you should probably stop usage as you're having a bad reaction to it. Your dermatologist should take a look if you have any other skin conditions on your scalp such as psoriasis or seborrhea, which could be aggravated when applying that medication.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

itching is common but it shouldn't be excessive and burning is not a good sign. How long have you been using it? If it's been a while and it's gotten worse it may be best to stop using it. I still would suggest seeing a dermatologist about the red spots. Not sure if you used propecia before but it may be worth switching over to, the results are usually better and you don't have to apply anything to your hair so it doesn't look greasy.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

Jack,

I agree with hairupthere: schedule an appointment with a dermatologist as soon as you can. No one on the discussion forums can or will diagnose your issue, and it really needs to be evaluated by a licensed physician (preferably a dermatologist). Good luck! Keep us updated.

"Doc" Blake Bloxham - formerly "Future_HT_Doc"

Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant for the Hair Transplant Network, the Hair Loss Learning Center, the Hair Loss Q&A Blog, and the Hair Restoration Forum

All opinions are my own and my advice does not constitute as medical advice. All medical questions and concerns should be addressed by a personal physician.

Jackthehat,