Story and Advice

As I've been "getting by" as they say in the hair loss world, I haven't been frequenting this site as much as I did when I was a newbie, mainly because of the fact that I didn't want hair loss consuming my life if it didn't have to. But alas, as my hair as been getting worse I find myself back here.

I'm 21 and well on my way to a NW 5A or 6. I have diffuse thinning in the crown, vertex, and frontal 1/3. I first noticed hair falling out in April of 2008, and what was first the first month or two a potential threat has morphed into the monster of MPB.

Around August when density became threatened I started on Rogaine and Propecia, and also did a couple of in-person, online and over-the-phone consults. The most optimistic advice I received was that I have favored hair characteristics (black and curly) and that a small, conservative procedure might make a dent in this cosmetic defect. Though, all clinics expressed their wariness about my age, and also my weak graft availability in the donor area (around 4,000 lifetime grafts according to one doctor). One renowned doctor told me "I would never operate on you. Never." I do appreciate his frankness, though.

In any event, I was told to stay on the meds and cross my fingers, which I've been doing. There has been a very minor slowing of hair loss during these 6 months, though I still lose a considerable amount each day. And more and more, I have to drown my hair in concealers (Toppik, Nanogen) and turn my hair into what looks more like a "creation"; obscure and unnatural, but nonetheless a look that is NOT bald.