from everything i've read, yes. there are no side effects with prp. in addition, the limitations of fin seem to be age related in that it doesn't regrow or reverse thinning the older you get. it sounds like prp might help reverse thinning no mater what your age.

I am the owner/operator of AHEAD INK a Scalp Micropigmentation Company in Fort Lee, New Jersey. www.aheadink.com

from everything i've read, yes. there are no side effects with prp. in addition, the limitations of fin seem to be age related in that it doesn't regrow or reverse thinning the older you get. it sounds like prp might help reverse thinning no mater what your age.

You talk like it is a proven method. Until, it is proven to work, PRP is just hype/experimental/snake oil.

I am not a doctor. The opinions and comments are of my own.

HT with Dr. Cooley on Nov 20, 2008

2097 grafts, 3957 hairs

Proscar, 1.25 mg daily, skip the 5th day, started Nov 2007

My Hair Loss Blog - Hair Transplant with Dr. Cooley

The terms "hype" and "snake oil" are different from the word "experimental."

PRP is already proven to benefit the tissue it is used upon. The data and real world results exist. "Snake oil" is something that has no scientific basis behind it.

PRP does grow hair -- most definitely in Alopecia Areata patients. The question is whether the extent to which it will work will be cosmetically significant. All the other questions also remain about long term effectiveness, etc.

It is experimental, but very promising.

I wouldn't call PRP snake oil, but I do fear that the trend of the online world is hype. Hopefully this community will keep an open mind and remain what I like to call "cautiously optimistic". There are a number of discussions on this forum regarding PRP.

For more information on Platelet Rich Plasma (PRP), visit our Q&A blog article "Can Platelet Rich Plasma Stop Hair Loss and Grow New Hair?"

Best wishes,

Bill