Width and length of a donor strip?

Montrose02,

The following information was taken from the homepage of Dr. Bernstein:

The average donor strip is 1cm wide, although this will vary depending on the patient’s scalp laxity, density, and the number of grafts desired for the hair restoration.

The length also depends on the number of grafts needed. We average 90-100 follicular unit grafts per cm2 of donor tissue (that is the density of follicular units in an average person).

A 2,000 graft procedure, for example, would require a donor strip 22 cm long and 1cm wide. A 2,500 graft session would be 1.2 cm wide and 23 cm long.

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

Also, they usually try to overshoot in case a couple grafts get damaged during cutting. They would rather give you 200 grafts than refund the money for 200 grafts ;)

Finasteride 1.25 mg. daily

Avodart 0.5 mg. daily

Spironolactone 50 mg twice daily

5 mg. oral Minoxidil twice daily

Biotin 1000 mcg daily

Multi Vitamin daily

Damn, with all the stuff you put in your hair are you like a negative NW1? :D

Our strips are almost always 1.6-1.7cm wide, about the width of a stick of gum. The length varies with density and grafts needed. This has let us get up to 3900 grafts. When folks speak of 5000 graft cases, frankly I have the man/woman power to do these, but rather I am limited by strip width. And scalp laxity is like a box of chocolates....you just don't know until you excise the strip how loose a scalp will be. As closure tension has a direct relationship with scarring, I frankly am concerned about getting the scalp closed well more than getting that extra 1000 grafts.

Dr. Lindsey McLean VA

William H. Lindsey, MD, FACS

McLean, VA

Dr. William Lindsey is a member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians