Donor Scar swelling?

Hi guys,

quick question - I am 2 days post-op and there is some swelling right above my donor scar. Is this normal?

I thought swelling was primarily in the recipient area/forhead/face. I did not have any of that swelling, but rather, seem to have it all above the donor area.

I want to make sure there isnt something unexpected going on that could potentially cause my scar to stretch or something along those lines.

Thanks guys :)

hairlossguy222,

As Spex has said, you are barely out of surgery. The scar will probably be raised and swollen for some time. Baby it and it will eventually settle.

All the best!

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

Most likely you are experiencing some normal post operative swelling just above the donor wound. This is not very common but also not unheard of. The only thing you would need to be concerned about is a hematoma developing in this area. If the sweeling worsens, persists, or if it becoming more painful you should contact your physician right away.

Hairlossguy,

Have you considered giving the clinic a call? Like others have said, this isn't too uncommon, but it may ease some of your worries if you actually discussed the problem with the clinic and received some specific instructions on the issue. Good luck! Make sure to keep us updated.

"Doc" Blake Bloxham - formerly "Future_HT_Doc"

Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant for the Hair Transplant Network, the Hair Loss Learning Center, the Hair Loss Q&A Blog, and the Hair Restoration Forum

All opinions are my own and my advice does not constitute as medical advice. All medical questions and concerns should be addressed by a personal physician.

• 1 month later...