consult with Dr. Keene

I had my phone consult with Dr. Keene yesterday yesterday. She reviewed my pics and quoted me a price of 5,700 dollars for 1500 grafts. I was suprised by the high cost. What do you guys think?

That's actually pretty good. I think the average for the first 2000 grafts should be around $4-$4.50 per graft. That quote is $3.80 per graft. You may want to see if she would discount a little more if you're willing to take a cancelled appointment as many clinics will.

Usually, discounts apply to sessions larger than 2000 grafts knocking the per graft price for anything above that amount to around $2-$2.50 per graft.

Hairbank

1st HT 1-18-05 - 1200 FUT's

2nd HT 2-15-06 - 3886 FUT's Dr. Wong

3rd HT 4-24-08 - 2415 FUT's Dr. Wong

GRAND TOTAL: 7501 GRAFTS

current regimen: 1.25mg finasteride every other day

My Hair Loss Weblog

Disclaimer: I'm not a Doctor (and have never played one on TV ;) ) and have no medical training. Any information I share here is in an effort to help those who don't like hair loss.

From my consultations, that price that was quoted to you is quite reasonable since most other top docs charges $4-$4.5 per grafts for the first 2000 grafts. What kind of a price range were you expecting?

finnari,

I agree with my brothers above. $3.80 per graft is an exceptional price. I suppose I should say unfortunately. it is indeed an expensive investment...but you have to consider whether or not having a head of hair again is worth the price or not.

Where are you on the norwood scale? 1500 grafts, generally speaking is not a lot of grafts. I assume you don't have a lot of hairloss? Are you on finasteride to attempt to prevent future loss?

hope this helps.

Bill

I had no idea what it would cost. but thanks for the reply's. My thinking is the money is well invested. I have quite a bit of hair anyway just need hairline work to fill in.

I might go see Dr. Alexander here in phoenix to see what he has to say.