What hormones should I have tested at a minimum before starting a DHT blocker or anti-androgen?

TheDarkHour

I'm on the verge of deciding between finasteride or RU, but I'd like to establish my baseline hormone levels before starting either treatment. Some recommendations suggest testing around 20 hormones to determine baseline levels, but this could be quite costly, especially if I plan to retest later to assess the impact of finasteride or RU. Additionally, being in the UK, it seems that only testosterone testing is available through the NHS.

I've found a package from Medichecks that covers testosterone, free testosterone, estradiol, and DHT for approximately £200. Would this be sufficient, or should I consider testing other hormones as well?

• Administrators

Check your DHT, testosterone and estrogen. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I had my testosterone and DHT tested before planning to start Fin. 

I had T in the normal range but found out my DHT is actually below the normal range. I then managed to talk my way into meeting an Endocrinologist via Bupa ( I have health insurance) and he again tested DHT amongst others and again same below normal range. 

I am so thankful I tested before starting Fin and decided against it

52 minutes ago, Loso86 said:

I had my testosterone and DHT tested before planning to start Fin.