Downgrading from 5mg Oral Minoxidil to 2.5mg - is it a good idea?

Hi Guys,

Basically, the title says it all, for the last 8 months I've been on 5mg of Oral Min, and no serious side effects of note except the very odd heart palpitation - but that may not be attributable to the medication so please don't read into that too much 🙂. The benefits of Oral Min coupled with Finasteride have been great (for my crown in particular - my hairline hasn't really benefitted as such).

I was wondering if it would be a safer course of action to err on the side of caution and decrease to 2.5mg? Would it be much of a difference to the overall result? I've seen people with excellent results with just 2.5mg (Such as Mr. Rolandas). Or does this even make sense considering i have very few (if any) side effects, and just stick to 5mg?

• Administrators

Try alternating between 2.5 mg to 5 mg. See if you notice a difference, if no. Switch to 2.5.

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey: 

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Cheers @Melvin- Moderator,

I'll put in an order for both then and see how I go! It was on your advice I tried Oral Min in the first place and its worked really well, its not as drastic a change as some others over the 8 months but it's definitely improved things.

Edited by make_aaron_great_again

• Valued Contributor

@make_aaron_great_again

You can cut down your dosage as melvin suggested and see how it goes ...

10 minutes ago, make_aaron_great_again said:

its not as drastic a change as some others over the 8 months