giving blood before a hair transplant

No problem.

The only problem WOULD BE, if you are on Finasteride/Dutasteride, or any other drug that affects DHT in your blood serum level.

These drugs could be transferred to the party receiving the blood transfusion, which may be a pregnant woman or a child.

YOU NEED TO BE CAREFUL ABOUT THIS!!

ADVISE THE HEALTH CARE PROVIDER ASSISTING YOU IN THE BLOOD DONATION!

take care...

mmhce,

Thats a good point. But doesnt Finasteride only stay in your system for a short time (a day or two) before it is naturally flushed, or does the fact that the blood is external from your body eliminate this process?

Patient Advisor for Dr. Bisanga - BHR Clinic 

ian@bhrclinic.com   -    BHR YouTube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcH4PY1OxoYFwSDKzAkZRww

I am not a medical professional and my words should not be taken as medical advice. All opinions and views shared are my own.

The half-life of finasteride is about 4 and 1/2 hours.

The half-life of the enzyme after long term exposure to finasteride is approximately 30

days.

Like I said, this question has serious medical implications and a qualified physician should answer a question like this.

Transferring body fluids is a bio-hazardous process and needs strict quality control.

take care...

Originally posted by mmhce:

No problem.

The only problem WOULD BE, if you are on Finasteride/Dutasteride, or any other drug that affects DHT in your blood serum level.

These drugs could be transferred to the party receiving the blood transfusion, which may be a pregnant woman or a child.

YOU NEED TO BE CAREFUL ABOUT THIS!!

ADVISE THE HEALTH CARE PROVIDER ASSISTING YOU IN THE BLOOD DONATION!

SOME GOOD AND IMPORTANT POINTS THERE MMHCE!!!

mmhce,

I always enjoy reading your posts regarding drugs and medical implications. You appear to have extensive knowledge of hair loss drugs in particular, how they work, and how the interact chemically in the body.