Concern: topical Minoxidil toxic to dogs

airporteffect

Hello all, I am at the very beginning of addressing my hair loss and have been prescribed the following:

(daily)
1 x Minoxidil 2.5mg oral tablet
1 x Minoxidil 5%/Finasteride 1%/Retinoic Acid 0.025% topical foam

I've read online that Minoxidil is extremely toxic to dogs and am concerned as my 85lb GSD sleeps in bed with me. I'm wondering what some of you have done to mitigate the chances of exposure?

• Administrators

Why are you still using topical if you're on oral minoxidil?

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

48 minutes ago, Melvin- Moderator said:

Why are you still using topical if you're on oral minoxidil?

Great question @Melvin- Moderator. I actually haven't started the topical foam yet (I am 6 days post transplant and must wait 10). I'm honestly not entirely sure why he has me on both modalities but I do know that the Minoxidil foam is the vehicle for the Finasteride compound — so that's why it is in there. I did clarify that my doc wanted me on both but I'll call tomorrow and get some more info on this. I'm not a huge fan of topicals, in general, but he seemed pretty opposed to prescribing oral Finasteride. I honestly may go to my GP and discuss Finasteride 1mg, 3 times a week.

• Administrators
7 minutes ago, airporteffect said: