Remove sutures?

I had an FUT procedure and I was told to keep the sutures in for 3 weeks.  By that timeline I should have them removed in a couple days.  The donor scar line is still a bit tender when light pressure is applied.  Normal?  Just want to be sure I’m healed enough for suture removal.  Seems like from what I’ve read 3 weeks is a little on the longer side and should be fine.

• Administrators

Have you messaged your doctor? I’ve never had FUT, but let me tag @gillenator he has experience with FUT

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

5 hours ago, Melvin- Moderator said:

Have you messaged your doctor? I’ve never had FUT, but let me tag @gillenator he has experience with FUT

I did, will probably wait until I hear back. Should be just a couple days at most.

Yes all 4 of my procedures were FUT and the longest that thread sutures were left in were 12 days…my 4th and last procedure were closed with staples.

So, what determines the time frames regarding how long sutures are left in before removal?….most surgeons feel approximately 10-12 days is adequate unless laxity is an issue or possibly the patient has issues with slower healing…the concern is that the patient does not develop a wide noticeable strip scar during the healing process…the method of closure such as a double closure technique can definitely have a bearing as well whereby both the inner dermis layer and outer epidermis layer are sutured separately…the inner layer are sutured with dissolvable material and the outer is a removable thread.

Gillenator