Had a Hot Burnt Feeling on Scalp while Blow Drying ? Hair Loss Possible ?

jooeey

Hi Guys,

I have had transplant in the past I just had a quick question. I was trying to style my hair using blow dryer and I am a little new, I am beginner, a new starter as far as blow drying and using hair dryer for styling hair is concerned. I think by mistake I kept the hair dryer a few more seconds at one spot, instead of keeping it moving and that kind of gave me a hot burning feeling on my scalp my question is could this one time incident cause any hair loss ? This was just one time incident that happened with me there was no visible or evident injury, or mark or anything that I can see. Just the hot burning feeling and sensation on my scalp. Could this cause hair loss?

Edited by jooeey

• Administrators

Use the blowdryer on cool next time.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

3 hours ago, Melvin- Moderator said:

Use the blowdryer on cool next time.

Hi Melvin,

Yes I do get that, but what about the incident that has already happened ? Can such a one time incident pose any potential threat ? I did see some hair in the bathroom sink when I washed my hair, not many around 40-50 hair strands but those maybe also from my daily telogen hairfall that even a normal person has. I am not suffering from any aggressive hairloss last few years because I have been on Minoxidil and Finasteride/Dutasteride on and off.

So I don't think the 40-50 Hair Strands that I saw in the bathroom sink were actually androgenetic alopecia hairloss. But you never know.