Dr. Bisanga - FUE - DHI or Sapphire: A Marketing Gimmick?! Why Every Follicle Matters!

In this episode of "Bitesize with Bisanga", Dr. Bisanga discusses the current trend of marketing gimmicks such as DHI and Sapphire and how some clinics use them as a mere marketing strategy to attract patients by selling "superior techniques".

Dr. Bisanga shares why every single hair follicle matters as a finite resource that must be respected and he details his preferred approach in terms of order of proceedings on surgery day.

• Like 2

Patient Advisor for Dr. Bisanga - BHR Clinic 

ian@bhrclinic.com   -    BHR YouTube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcH4PY1OxoYFwSDKzAkZRww

I am not a medical professional and my words should not be taken as medical advice. All opinions and views shared are my own.

15 hours ago, deeznuts said:

I thought DHI just meant they use an implanter pen instead of forceps + incisions

DHI stands for direct hair implantation. It is different to an implanter pen as the site being made and the graft being placed occurs within the same process.
Implanter pens are used to place into pre-made recipient sites.
DHI is FUE surgery, but simply utilising a different tool. Just like with any tool in FUE and the debate of manual or motorised, the most important element is the controller, ie. the surgeon. Whilst some respected doctors may prefer to use DHI, it is also very prominent in low cost technician led clinics whose goal is to perform surgery more quickly, and with more patients each day as DHI essentially "cuts out" the independent process of placing. When the desire for speed becomes a factor, quality of surgery will also suffer.

The risk of cobblestoning, tenting, low density, extensive popping of grafts are just a few of many concerns with DHI.