Feeling anxious before my surgery next week!

Hi folks,

Reading this site has been super helpful. I have an appointment for surgery next week and feeling very anxious. Cold feet, even though I plan to proceed.

I think this stress is due to a few factors. I’m relatively new to idea of getting the procedure (IE I’ve thought about it for maybe 6 months), but I have two people I trust who have gotten the surgery and recommend it highly. They’ve talked me through the pros and the cons, and one has worked with the surgeon that I’m working with. That said, I was able to get an appointment much faster than anticipated (I was booked for April, but there was a cancellation and I was able to get that appointment — which is exciting, I like the idea of being in good shape by summer). Planning on FUE surgery with the maximum number of grafts the doctor recommends, 2000 - 2500.

That said, I perhaps haven’t done as much homework on this stuff as some of you, and it all feels like it’s happening very quickly. Can I describe some of my anxieties and have you tell me your thoughts?

First, some context. I’m in my late 30s, live in New York City. I’ve wrestled with hairloss since I was 19. I would describe myself as a Norwood III or IV. Photos attached. It runs in the family. I was lucky enough to have someone tell me about propecia while I was in college. I have taken it ever since with no side effects. I never really used rogaine, in part because I had read it was only for vertex thinning, and I found it messy and dried my scalp. For the past year I’ve been using rogaine foam and find it is fine. I had a lot of stress in my life the past few years (deaths in the family! Eek.) and got more grays and lost some density on top. As I march towards my 40s, I’m really curious to change how I feel about my hair and my appearance. For example, I dyed my hair blonde for a year in college and felt like a dynamo. Could this make me feel like that?