Corrective surgery on 60 y/o male after 2 past scalp lift procedures

This 60 y/o male presented to us several years ago, having previously had two scalp lifts/reductions, which raised the hair on the side of his head way above his ears (see two last photos). He also had two transplant procedures with several hundred pluggy grafts each time. Because of the scalp lift, these grafts grew very poorly. He had very little donor hair. Over two procedures three years apart he had 805 FU's the first procedure and 1020 the second procedure. At this latter surgery I obtained half of the grafts using FUE (Safe II system with 0.9mm punch. I spaced the grafts so they would obtain enough blood supply to survive. 

Mike Beehner, MD.

img823.jpg

img824.jpg

img831.jpg

img832.jpg

• Administrators

Wow great improvement Dr. Beehner, in your opinion why did scalp lifts, flaps and reductions cause so many repair patients? 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

In answer to your question about how the previous use of flaps, scalp reductions, and scalp lifts were harmful to the patient's scalp, there are several key issues.