Shaving the face post op

Hey,

Kind of an odd question. With the restrictions on clippering the donor post op for up to a month (but scissor cut is ok), I'm wondering, is there something intrinsically bad about the act of using electric razors on your donor or face, that would have an effect on the recipient?

I'm wondering if there is some motivation to avoid using electric clippers on the donor due to the vibrations that they cause, and that this could damage the recipient, and thus, electric razors for the face would pose the same problem. What do you think?

I think clippers actually 'pull' at your hair.

if you don't oil them properly you can feel them tugging as you move the clipper across your head. So, i'm guessing, given that your hair (post HT) is all a bit delicate, its advised not to use them.

• Administrators

Cutting the back and sides should have no effect on the recipient area. However, its not recommended to cut the top until the grafts have shed.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I know it seems crazy, but I'm talking about specifically shaving your face with an electric razor.

Like, if clippering away from the recipient (on the donor area), is to be avoided post op, why?

• Administrators

I shaved my face with an electric razor in all three of my transplants, this will have no impact on your hair transplant.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey