Minoxidil 10% for 18 months - seen no regrowth - give up or try alternative?

n2se5

I've been using Belgravia's 10% Minoxidil for 18 months now and I haven't seen any regrowth at all. It might of helped to stabilized my hair but I can't prove this because I've also been taking Propecia/Fin for the same period and I think its the pill that helped to pretty much halt my hair loss.

I am paying a lot of minoxidil at the moment with no proven results so I am looking to change or quit.

I will continue to take fin because I am sure this is working.

So I am thinking should I stop using minoxidil or should I go down to 5% (which is a lot cheaper and buy Kirkland's 5%) or I could even request 12.5% minoxidil.

I've read that low doses of minoxidil (5%) only works on a third of patients and the rest of us see no benefit but many more of us may see benefits using higher doses. As I have used 10% for 18 months and seen no benefit, I'm thinking of what are my chances of seeing a benefit using 12.5% minoxidil.

If anyone has any comments please so write them so I can make my mind up about what to do.

I want to at least maintain my hair or even have some growth on my frontal area. I would say I'm closer to a Norwood 3 than 2.

Thank you.

I would avoid anything advertising itself as "10% Minoxidil", since it hasn't been tested clinically.

Majority of users use 5% Minoxidil and it works well

I would advise you to avoid quitting Minoxidil and better buy 5% Minoxidil

I hope you aware that Minoxidil is less effective on frontal areas

I would avoid anything advertising itself as "10% Minoxidil", since it hasn't been tested clinically.

Thanks for your reply.

10% may not have had the same vigorous testing as 5% but there are proven results on Belgravia's website, but I didn't get any regrowth. I am aware that Minoxidil is less effective on the frontal areas but it does work for some people.