What's the general expected rate of hair growth for transplants?

I've researched everywhere I can imagine for probably nearly 2 years now, but there's just extremely different answers from every surgeon.

I've found surgeons saying that 50% growth is expected at 6 months, while others saying that 70-90% is what you should have from others on Realself. Other surgeons seem to include how 'mature' the hair is in their answers as well.

Is there a general expectation of how many of your hairs should have at least popped out of the scalp by 6 months or so?

This is the rule of thumb we subscribe to.

3 months - 10%

4 months - 25%

5 months - 40%

6 months - 60%

7 months - 70%

8 months - 75%

9 months - 80%

10 months - 90%

11 months - 95%

12 months - 98%

18 months - 100%

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

This is the rule of thumb we subscribe to.

3 months - 10%

4 months - 25%

5 months - 40%

6 months - 60%

7 months - 70%

8 months - 75%

9 months - 80%

10 months - 90%

11 months - 95%

12 months - 98%

18 months - 100%

I roughly agree with this rule.

However there are two points that I would like to add.

The first one is that growth at the frontal area is faster than at the crown. I think the above chart is closer to the speed of the frontal part and the crown follows on average 3 months later.