Arthritis Drug Restores Full Head of Hair in Alopecia Universalis Patient

blowdry

Researchers have discovered that an FDA-approved arthritis drug may hold the secret to curing hairlessness.

A new paper published by scientists at Yale University School of Medicine announced the first reported successful targeted treatment of alopecia universalis—a condition that causes loss of all hair on one's head and body. The subject of the study, a 25-year-old man grew back his eyebrows, eyelashes, and other hair after an eight-month course of Pfizer's tofacitinib.

Edited by Future_HT_Doc

The problem for must of us is that this type of hair loss has nothing to do with genetic baldness due to dht.

I am an online representative for Dr. Raymond Konior who is an elite member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

View Dr. Konior's Website

View Spanker's Website

I am not a medical professional and my opinions should not be taken as medical advice.

Exciting news for individuals suffering from autoimmune alopecia: dermatology researchers at the Yale School of Medicine completely regrew a full head of hair in a man with alopecia universalis using a known arthritis medication. Eight months after starting Tofacitinib citrate, the patient regrew beard, eyebrow, eyelash, and armpit hair that had not grown in nearly seven years. Even more remarkable, the patient completely restored his entire head of hair.

To read more about this exciting finding and what it may mean for individuals with autoimmune alopecias - like alopecia areata, alopecia totalis, and alopecia univeralis - please see the following: Arthritis Drug Regrows Full Head of Hair in Patient with Alopecia Universalis.

"Doc" Blake Bloxham - formerly "Future_HT_Doc"

Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant for the Hair Transplant Network, the Hair Loss Learning Center, the Hair Loss Q&A Blog, and the Hair Restoration Forum