propecia and inflamed nipple ouch!!!

alexjohnson

hey, been takain prop for about 9 weeks now and had no side effects untill now, my left nipple has become tendr and inflamed.... it is uncomfortable and does not look good!!! so was wondering if there was any supplements out there to counteract this? the word gyno, or geno nipple come to mind??? thanks for any help .

Alex,

Ouch!

I know breast tenderness, lumps, and nipple discharge have been reported as possible side effects of Propecia for hair loss.

As Propecia's website reports, you should report these or any other usual possible side effects with your doctor. You may have to stop taking finasteride if this remains a continued problem.

Best wishes,

Bill

Alexjohnson

I've been prescribing Propecia (finasteride) for several years and did have one patient who had breast tenderness and gynecomastia(enlarged breasts) after taking the Propecia. The patient elected to continue the medication, and if the problem continued, he was going to discontinue the medication. I do not know of any supplements to counteract this; if it continues to bother you, you may want to consider stopping the medication.

Steven Gabel, MD, FACS, FISHRS

Diplomate, American Board of Hair Restoration Surgery

Diplomate, American Board of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Diplomate, American College of Surgeons

Gabel Hair Restoration Center

Portland, Oregon

503-693-1118

Email Dr. Gabel directly at drgabel@gabelcenter.com

Dr. Gabel's Website

Dr. Steven Gabel is a member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

Originally posted by alexjohnson:

hey, been takain prop for about 9 weeks now and had no side effects untill now, my left nipple has become tendr and inflamed.... it is uncomfortable and does not look good!!! so was wondering if there was any supplements out there to counteract this? the word gyno, or geno nipple come to mind??? thanks for any help .