Hair Diameter

I was wondering: are the transplanted hairs that are around in the initial stage (first couple weeks) the maximum thickness they can be? I know they shed and grow back thicker and thicker, but what about the first couple weeks?

lcsulla,

I'm not sure if I'm following your but, prior to shedding, the hair follicles in the transplanted grafts are exactly the same follicles that were growing in your donor region. Thus, they are the same diameter as the rest of your non miniaturized, natural hair.

Once these hair shed and begin to regrow between 3 and 4 months post op they will initially be finer and lighter in color that your natural hair and may also take on a kinky appearance until they fully mature.

I hope I was able to adequately address your question.

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

I know what you mean! When you look at fresh transplanted hairs a few days after surgery they do look thinner than your donor hair strands, I think that these new transplanted hair strands shrink slightly in the doctors dishes or in your head before they fall out. They usually grow back to full thickness when they're regrowing though.

I've not known many people notice that before you must have good eyes.

Edited by bonkerstonker

Bonkerstonker! :D

http://www.hairtransplantnetwork.com/blog/home-page.asp?WebID=1977

Update I'm now on 12200 Grafts, hair loss has been a thing of my past for years. Also I don't use minoxidil anymore I lost no hair coming off it. Reduced propecia to 1mg every other day.

My surgeons were

Dr Hasson x 4,

Dr Wong x 2

Norton x1

I started losing my hair at 19 in 1999

I started using propecia and minoxidil in 2000

Had 7 hair transplants over 12200 grafts by way of strip but

700 were Fue From Norton in uk