Manual vs Automatic punch for FUE?

I'm considering my options and two HT surgeons are on my list with whom I would like to have FUE.

One major difference between the two is that one of them uses manual punch for making incisions at the donor area.

What punch tool (manual or motorized) is considered to be more successful? What are the benefits and drawbacks of each of them?

Motorized FUE devices tend to make cleaner cuts and have less tissue drag allowing the graft to be removed much easier and intact.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

Motorized FUE devices tend to make cleaner cuts and have less tissue drag allowing the graft to be removed much easier and intact.

This is HIGHLY disputed by some FUE docs. The more common explanation is that a hand punch allows the doctor to 'feel' around the graft. This too could be complete BS for all I know, but it is easy to see that a lighter punch, whilst more difficult to break the skin, would be more easily maneuvered.

The advantage to a motorized device is that it causes less fatigue for the doc and more grafts can be harvested in a shorter time. Critics say, as sacr5 said, that the docs can't feel what's going on as well and may end up with more transections. Also that the motorized drill may generate heat which could be bad for the grafts.

5700 FUE in 3 procedures with Dr. Bisanga

View my patient website:

http://www.hairtransplantnetwork.com/blog/home-page.asp?WebID=1874

I've had both types done. Not so great yield with either. I would go with a FUE doc who does the extractions himself and not more than a 1000 a day.

Thanks guys for the responses.

jfables, where and which doctor did you get your HT done? And how many grafts were transplanted in each session and how much (%age) yield did you get?

Thanks