O.k, I am post-op day #5 and I have noticed more then normal amount of hair loss while washing my hair. Yes I have been very careful and am using baby shampoo. I have not noticed any hair loss on my pillow when I wake up, just in the shower and a little when I am combing my hair. Why???

That is shock loss, which is normal. You will look temporarily thinner after your procedure as some of your native hair may go into a dormant stage along with some of the native hair getting cut by the incisions. Again this is temporary but people tend to have a slightly thinner look for about 3 months because that's when those hairs will regrow along with the transplanted hairs. In the meantime, once your scabs have fallen off (between 8-10 days) you can use cosmetics like dermatch or toppik to hide those thinner areas.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

But the loss isn't in the recipient area, it is in the back of my head.

I thought maybe shock loss, but I guess I didn't know it would happen this soon.

Thank you for talking with me about this!

You'll be fine. It gets worse before it gets better.

Dr. G: 1,000 grafts (FUT) 2008

Dr. Paul Shapiro: 2,348 grafts (FUT) 2009 ~ 1,999 grafts (FUT) 2011 ~ 300 grafts (Scar Reduction) 2013

Dr. Konior: 771 grafts (FUT) 2015 ~ 558 grafts (FUT) 2017 ~ 1,124 grafts (FUE) 2020

My Hair Transplant Journey with Shapiro Medical Group