Is the strip method non-acceptable when looking for a surgeon?

When looking to consult a surgeon, would you steer away from the ones that performs strip alongside FUE?

As far as I've come to known, the strip method is vastly outdated?

Some older approahes to strip harvesting might be outdated, but Follicualr Unit Transplantation via strip certainly is not.

Notice: I am an employee of Dr. Paul Rose who is recommended on this community. I am not a doctor. My opinions are not necessarily those of Dr. Rose. My advice is not medical advice.

Dr. Rose is a member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

As far as i understand, the strip method is done by cutting a rectangular slice of ones donor area, then to extract hairs from that piece, while FUE is plucking out the hairs like you would on a chicken.

It would seem pointless to do the first mentioned method, so I'm possibly wrong about this - would you mind enlightening me?

-- Strip method is cheaper. Literally half the price a lot of the time. Once you're talking multiple HTs for a major MPB problem, this may be the differnce between spending the price of a truck or the price of a cheap house.

-- FUE leaves "thinning" in the donor area that may actually be harder to hide once a person has had several surgeries & a lot of grafts have been removed. But strip-style surgeries close the hole being created, and there isn't such an obvious thinning in the back in most cases. The strip-scar needs to be hidden of course, but modern surgeons are getting them pretty damn small/smooth these days.

-- When taking into account the fact that the donor strip is actually removed & the hole is closed, FUE may ultimately leave you with with more total scar tissue present in the back of your head.

Either way, most surgeons seem to think that doing a combination of both strip & FUE surgeries on a person will ultimately harvest the most possible hairs from the back & sides.