How many of you have any side effects from taking Propecia or Rogain?

Mikey79

Like many others I had a massive shed on the Rogaine foam, it actually caused an area of hair-bearing scalp to become completely bald - it's coming back now though.

Proscar. My libido has decreased somewhat, but that hasn't effected me much - just calmed me down , lol.

No side effect here either. And for most of those who had, it is most likely in their head.

I am not a doctor. The opinions and comments are of my own.

HT with Dr. Cooley on Nov 20, 2008

2097 grafts, 3957 hairs

Proscar, 1.25 mg daily, skip the 5th day, started Nov 2007

My Hair Loss Blog - Hair Transplant with Dr. Cooley

Originally posted by latinlotus:

No side effect here either. And for most of those who had, it is most likely in their head.

Yeah, I should add that I can't be 100% sure the libido is down to the Proscar, however, it is one side effect of proscar that has be observed in many clinical trials including those where the patients were in blind trials and didn't know what they were taking or for what purpose.

As for the Rogaine foam, that definitely cause a massive shed with me, which I have never had with the solution and have not had since going back on the solution.

OK, so rogain causes shedding, what about potency? any sexual problems??

What is the most effective product with the less significant side effects? The reason why I am asking is this: If I ever want to make sure that my original hair stays the same what product is ok to use. The last thing I want is to have potency problems.

Rogaine does not cause shedding in every case, but shedding is seen as a good sign. The problem I had with the foam was that the amount shedded was unacceptable. There was an area with hair which went completely bald, but as stated has returned since.

I have only ever used 5% rogaine and as far I am aware, minoxidil has no effect on "sexual" issues.