Does Minoxidil stop working after a while?

alexmillne

Does Minoxidil stop working after a while?

I'm confused by conflicting information. I've been using Finasteride for two years, which has slowed down my hair loss but hasn't made new hair grow. Now, I'm thinking about trying topical minoxidil, but I'm worried it might not work as well after around seven years. Should I wait until my hair loss gets worse, or should I start using it now while it's not so bad?

I'm wondering if Minoxidil loses its effectiveness over time, and if that's the case, should I save it for later? Are there any studies that look at how well Minoxidil works over the long term?

• Administrators

Where are you getting this information? From anonymous people online? Minoxidil is FDA approved for a reason. It works. There’s dozens of studies showing minoxidil works. It doesn’t stop working. But hair loss will slowly progress. It’s not a cure, but combined with finasteride, you’re giving yourself the most effective treatment.

You can take oral minoxidil which is more effective and eliminates needing to apply it topically, if thats your main concern. You keep making these threads. If you don’t wanna take it, don’t. But you’re the only one producing these theories that it makes hair loss worse, or that it stops working. There have been zero studies to support these claims. 

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

39 minutes ago, Melvin- Admin said: