Oral Minoxidil/Finasteride Compound

andrewfaliro

Hey everyone,

I have seen quite a few comments about not being able to get oral minoxidil that easily in various threads.

I can get it pretty easily here in Greece from BHR but I just wanted to share for those of you living the US, McGrath Medical based in Austin, TX does a compound of 1 mg finasteride, 5mg oral minoxidil, and 1 mg biotin all in one single pill. I believe it's $120 for a 90 day supply with free shipping.

I know this because I did one of my very first consultations (online) with him a few years ago and he suggested I try that out for a while before committing to surgery. 

Before someone asks, I am not getting paid or anything I just wanted to pass it along for those who were on the hunt!

• Administrators

I’m wondering what would be the allure of compounding it orally? Is it for convenience so you only take one pill per day? 

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

It’s really not that hard to get an oral min prescription in the US. I called up a few local dermatologists and easily found several who have experience prescribing oral min. Oral min is free through my insurance but also dirt cheap without insurance.

Edited by Tiger2050
  • Like 1

2 hours ago, Tiger2050 said:

It’s really not that hard to get an oral min prescription in the US. I called up a few local dermatologists and easily found several who have experience prescribing oral min. Oral min is free through my insurance but also dirt cheap without insurance.