Has Anyone Tried Co-Washing ?

Co-Washing is replacing your shampoo with a 'conditioner' to cleanse the hair.  As my hair is always dry I was thinking of trying this.

It supposedly helps with breakage.  If you've tried this with success which conditioner cleanser did you use ?  

• Administrators

Sometimes I use conditioner washing to keep my concealer in longer, especially dermmatch. Is that why you're considering co washing?

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

13 hours ago, Melvin- Moderator said:

Sometimes I use conditioner washing to keep my concealer in longer, especially dermmatch. Is that why you're considering co washing?

No, I'm finding quite a few hairs in the shower,which are shorter (breakage ?) than my own hair.  Say 1" or so as compared to my 3".

So I'm assuming this is breakage, which even if it's not 'hair loss' is probably still affecting density.  My hair is very dry, and I'm thinking

that might be leading to the breakage. And shampoos which are usually drying,  is probably making matters worse.

I've watched a few videos were they claim co-washing is better and less drying than shampoo by not removing all the natural oils, ect.

How do you find the difference if any in your hair with co-washing ?   What product(s) do you use ?   

• Administrators
2 hours ago, NewHare said:

No, I'm finding quite a few hairs in the shower,which are shorter (breakage ?) than my own hair.  Say 1" or so as compared to my 3".