Punch sizes and punch depth

I've asked this question before about how small can punch sizes go before you are not extracting enough tissue around the graft to be viable for regrowth. How about punch depth? How deep does a surgeon have to penetrate the skin before they have cut to the necessary depth to safely remove the graft?

• Administrators

You need to go beyond the hair cell matrix

image.png

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Thanks. What I was trying to ascertain is how deep (in mm) a surgeon needs to penetrate the skin in order to remove a graft. Looks like terminal hair follicles are anywhere between 4 mm and 7 mm below the surface of the skin. So if the surgeon has to penetrate beyond the hair matrix, they are going at least 4 mm deep and possibly more.

On another forum, there was talk about Dr. Zarev's ability to remove a high number of grafts with very little scarring visible. A forum poster, who recently visited Dr. Zarev for a consultation, was trying to explain his extraction technique. I don't think I am allowed to copy and paste his text but, to paraphrase, he claims that Dr. Zarev's punches allow for the wound to heal with very little scarring since the puncture is so tiny in diameter. I was then wondering if, besides using a smaller punch size, the depth of the extraction could be more closely controlled to reduce scarring.

Edited by kirkland
Just to add the word 'thanks'.

• Administrators
1 hour ago, kirkland said: