Did You Guys Ever Compensate For Hair Loss?

• Administrators

I was looking back at how my life used to be in my 20's, and I was a total gym rat. I would weigh my food and would always try and diet to stay fit and lean. After some internal analyzing, I realized that I was severely compensating for my lack of hair. I wanted to be seen as the "fit" guy instead of the "bald" guy. 

I still exercise to stay healthy, but I'm nothing like I used to be at all. My focus and outlook has completely changed. It's all thanks to my hair. I've even had a few people ask me if I still work out, which would have upset me when I was bald, now I don't care haha. Did any of you guys do this? Doesn't have to be with the gym, could be with schooling, cars, material possessions etc. 

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I actually gained about 30 pounds from becoming a gym rat (went from 145 to 175)....too bad not all of it was muscle though haha. I attribute it to compensating for my hair loss too. Going to the gym is a great stress reliever for me though so I continue to go when time permits. I totally relate to what you're saying. I believe I'm 1 hair transplant away from being happy with my hair (have had 2 FUTs so far). 

My advice does not constitute a patient-physician relationship nor as medical advice and all medical questions/concerns should be addressed to your medical provider.