Pulling Out Hair

jimjohanson

Hi everyone,

If I grab some hair hair from the very back of my head (where the hairline ends) and try to pull it out, no hair comes out. However, if I grab some hair on the top of my head and in the front, between two and four hair come out every time I do this.

Does this automatically mean that I suffer from male pattern boldness or are the hair on the back of the head generally stronger?

Thank you very much for your answers!

I can remember in the good ol' days before I realized I was going bald that I began to be able to pull hair out in front very easily with no pain. It was like separating Velcro. I don't know if everyone has a similar experience when hair loss begins but I've always figured that was the start of it.

I can't say if you have mpb or not but it couldn't hurt to consult with a dermatologist specializing in h air loss.

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

A thin miniaturized hair will pull out very easy. I have fairly mild mpb at this point and I remember shedding a lot even as a young child just by running my fingers through my hair doing my homework and watching it fall on the pages. I would make like piles. I'm 36 now. So, if hair coming out easy is mpb, if hasn't affected me drastically over 25 years of watching it happen.

I think what's most important is if it's growing in as fast as it's falling out.

I am an online representative for Dr. Raymond Konior who is an elite member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

View Dr. Konior's Website

View Spanker's Website

I am not a medical professional and my opinions should not be taken as medical advice.