Transplant to areas with thinned hair which are not totally bald yet

My temples have serious thinning and my hairline goes back a bit. But there are areas which still have some miniaturized hairs which have not totally fallen out for good. If I get a HT into these areas, will I "kill" these hairs? Is that something I should even worry about if the transplanted hairs will be much better anyway?

That would be called shock loss. That is a concern if the density of the area is too thick, but it's hard to say without seeing any photos. In many cases of hair transplantation some kind of shock loss occurs, and it usually occurs to miniaturized hairs that would have fallen out anyway, but sometimes it's best to use medication and see what happens first before going through the procedure. Post some photos or consult with a surgeon to see what's the best option for you.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

Thinning, weak, or minuturized hairs certainly tend to shed from shock easier and more often than healthy hairs. It is also more likely that if these hairs to fall out post operatively from shock that they will not grow back. Hopefully, you will be replacing them will healthier hairs. You have to decide how proactive you want to be.

Thinning, weak, or minuturized hairs certainly tend to shed from shock easier and more often than healthy hairs. It is also more likely that if these hairs to fall out post operatively from shock that they will not grow back. Hopefully, you will be replacing them will healthier hairs. You have to decide how proactive you want to be.
so would it make more sense to simply remove the weakening hairs and replace them with stronger hairs while a HT is performed? or would you wait until after the transplanted hairs have grown to see if there will be shock loss?

which would you suggest?