Minoxidil Long time Users

Kyo

Hi

Was wondering if anyone out there that has used Minoxidil for a extended period of time. ie 5 -10 years + could help?

From reading a number of sources and forums , there conflicting info on how effective minoxodil is in the long term.

Some say it effectiveness decreases over time as your body could become resistant to it's effect in the long run while others gain even more hair before they started and continued to maintain it.

Could someone please clarify or share their experiences?

Cheers

Kyo

I'm no expert but from what I understand, Minoxidil strengthens the hair against the effects of dht. Basically chains are strangling the hair folicle and minoxidil provides more strength to the hair. This treatment also increased the diameter of your existing hair making it look fuller. Over time however the chains will strangle the follicle to death with or without the treatment. I don't think the body develops resistance. Nature just takes it's inevidible course. The way I see it, if I can delay the onset of thinning, it's a good thing. I've been on it for a few days now. I know my hair will thicken over the course of the next year then it will remain unchanged. Some might think it stopped working after the results ended. What you have to realize is that the drug hasn't stopped working, you are just slowing down the progression a bit. You will thin, but it will happen slower. By the time I am 80 I will not really care. lol, but for now, I want to slow it down. Geez did I type all of that?