What's the deal with saw palmetto?

Masato

Does anyone have knowledge or experiences they can share regarding saw palmetto? It seems as though some people on this forum take it and it is commonly used for treating balding/prostate conditions. Has anyone experienced any side-effects? Could this be a "natural", less aggressive version of finasteride of some sort and be beneficial for preventing hair loss?

Thank you for your comments.

• 4 months later...

It does not work and will not produce significant results ( like 95% of supplements) - stick to the proven treatments !

JOBI

1417 FUT - Dr. True

1476 FUT - Dr. True

2124 FUT - Dr. True

604 FUE - Dr. True

My views are based on my personal experiences, research and objective observations. I am not a doctor.

Total - 5621 FU's uncut!

Middle aged to older men usually take Saw Palmetto to help improve urinary symptoms and the success for that is questionable at best. Now people say it helps to grow hair. Unless you have a slightly enlarged prostate I would not waste my money on it for hair growth.

Cheers for your opinions guys! It is rather expensive. Funny however, how it is very often brought up as a "natural alternative to finasteride". It would be interesting to read about or see some positive results from anyone who claims their hair has improved thanks to the supplement. Until such proof surfaces, I'll give up on the myth.

• 4 weeks later...